Autumn of Our Life

images You know, time has a way of moving quickly and catching you unawares of the passing years. It seems that just yesterday I was young, newly-wed and embarking on a new life with my soul mate. Yet in a way, it seems ages ago. One stops to think where have all these years gone in this “Autumn of Life”. Somewhere in my heart I know I lived them all to the fullest extent. But with rue my heart is laden as I enter the autumn of my life. I have glimpses of how it was back then, all of my hopes, dreams and desires but, here is the autumn of my life and it catches me by surprise. I do find myself deliberating over how I got here sooner than later? Why this fast-forwarding? Where did my youth go? I remember distinctly seeing older people through the years and thinking that I was many years, nay decades away and that winter was so far off that I couldn’t fathom what it’d actually be like! But here I see my friends some retired, some retiring, getting grey etc. Slowly but surely everyone is moving towards this winter of life. I see a prodigious change in them vastly different from those days of their youth and vibrancy. We’re the ‘older folk’ now that we never imagined we’d be. So how can I enter this arena unprepared for all the aches, pains, the loss of strength and the ability to go do things left undone. Let me assure you that sooner or later we all will have winter in our lives . So whatever it is that you want to accomplish no matter how small it is, get to it right way. Sometimes it’s good to prioritize yourself. So that in this winter of our lives we still have a scintillating as well as fulfilling summer to look back on. CARPE DIEM!

5 thoughts on “Autumn of Our Life

  1. Autumn of life is a reflection of what we all try to avoid facing in reality. Words are well knit to tell a new story of life to me. Keep going…..😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment